RSS Facebook

RCMF

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 22, 2014, 03:28:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Converting Futaba 6EX to Corona 2.4gHz using DIY module  (Read 3756 times)

Offline Devon Flyer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • RCMF Squadron Leader
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 5
  • Liked: 1
Converting Futaba 6EX to Corona 2.4gHz using DIY module
« on: July 26, 2011, 17:03:25 PM »
Thought it might be useful to post how I converted my Futaba 6EX to 2.4gHz using the Corona DIY module.
Easy conversion and rock solid.
I've been using a Corona plug in module in my FF9 for the past 2 years and have had absolutely no problem with it. Decided to convert another tranny for slope soaring use, as I don't like to take the FF9 in case I damage it.

Here is how to do it:

1: Remove the crystal.

2: Remove the four screws that attach the back transmitter case half to the front case half. As you open the case reach in and disconnect the battery. Just leave it in the back half of the case.

3: Once you have the case open, you will see the RF board sitting on 4 pins. It's the board with the trainer connector. Pull the RF board off itsí mounting pins being careful not to tear out the wires.

4: Cut the red power lead to VCC3 at the connection point  on the RF board and join it to the power wire (+) of the   2.4 module.  This removes the power to the RF board and redirects it to the hack module.
5: Cut the white wire to the MOD  connection point on the  RF board and join to the banded end of a Schottky Diode . Join the PPM signal wire of the 2.4 hack module to the other end of the diode. This redirects the PPM source signal from the Tx  RF board to the one from hack module and protects the hack module from being over powered by the PPM source voltage from the Tx.