RSS Facebook

RCMF

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 19, 2017, 01:02:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Articles

Author Topic: Turnigy TYG-i10 radio  (Read 1367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gaspin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • RCMF Ace
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 1,500
  • Liked: 78
  • Country: sg
  • On the beach in sunny Singapore
Turnigy TYG-i10 radio
« on: December 27, 2016, 03:35:35 AM »
I have just bought one of these transmitters, seems a bit strange after thirty years or so of speaking  mainly Futaba-speak, but all is well and fixed wing test flights went as expected; it is nice to hold, slim and secure, range is fine.
Question; setting up a couple of helis I note the Turnigy blurb says I.Bus and S.Bus available on my receiver a Turnigy TGY-IA6B, looks identical to a V2 but does not state this, it does state S.Bus on the case, so how do I make it produce S.Bus format to flow to my Mini K Bar gyro. (it worked fine with the Futaba set up ).
Is this S.Bus just for extension receivers, bit of a mystery. Anyone know????
No need to advise me to visit RC Groups 167 pages and very few facts !
Also don't bother to say "stick with Futaba", nothing wrong with Futaba I'm just trying to move along in the 21st century. :study:
Happy New Year to you All


Offline wilco

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • RCMF Flight Lieutenant
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 92
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: Turnigy TYG-i10 radio
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2017, 00:48:24 AM »
Hello Gaspin, I'm pleased you like your i10. I'm also a long-time Futaba user and found the conversion to the i10 straightforward.

Turning to your question, my recollection (I am not at home at the moment to check) is that the receiver you have has a socket for I-Bus which can be used via a channel expander add-on to connect a number of servos to one channel.

So far as I know the iA6-B does not have S-Bus (which I understand is the ability to operate several channels using one lead from the receiver). I don't have any V2 receivers so I can't comment on them.

I'm sure someone more knowledgeable than me will provide a definitive answer soon.

David

Offline Gaspin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • RCMF Ace
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 1,500
  • Liked: 78
  • Country: sg
  • On the beach in sunny Singapore
Re: Turnigy TYG-i10 radio
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2017, 01:53:18 AM »
Thanks Wilco, you have confirmed some of my insights into the i10, the V2 Rx does have a slot marked servos/S.bus but I fear this is S.bus but not as we know it!! This thought further fortified by HK having a separate S.Bus card available to connect to the Rx.
In the mean time I have the set up talking to the Tx, K Bar and computer through the cable to each channel system. I'll let you know any improvements I come across. :af


Offline wilco

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • RCMF Flight Lieutenant
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 92
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: Turnigy TYG-i10 radio
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2017, 15:34:46 PM »
A possible "gotcha" with this transmitter.

Always fly with a reasonably well-charged transmitter, particularly as we all know the battery life is not that long (around 2 hours in my experience). Read on to find out what could happen if you don't.

 I have come to the end of my self-imposed proving time with my Turnigy TYG-i10 transmitter (50 hours of flying), without incident.

However, after the last trip to the flying field I returned home and decided to see how much time I had left in the transmitter battery. After about 90 minutes sitting on the bench switched on (additional to 50 minutes flying from a full charge) I thought I would tap the screen to see how we were doing.

On activating the screen the transmitter switched itself off - no warnings, nothing. Presumably activating the screen increased the current draw on the battery and the voltage dropped below the 3.65 volts at which the transmitter turns itself off automatically (see section 24 on page 56 of the manual).

Whilst this is unlikely to happen in normal flight where the alarm will sound at 3.75 volts, probably when the screen is activated for some reason (eg a bit of trim input), it might occur if the screen is never activated on a long flight (eg when your free flight radio-assisted model is just circling lazily overhead on a summer's evening and you have nodded off).

To reduce the risk I have acquired a "Power Pack" (1S Li-Po in a case with 2 USB outputs and a solar panel on top) to top up my transmitter between flights.

It would be nice to have a legible screen to see the voltages whilst flying, but for the price..........................

Offline lesfly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • RCMF Pilot Officer
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 4
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • I'm so new it hurts!
  • BMFA Number: s028046
Re: Turnigy TYG-i10 radio
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2017, 15:58:39 PM »
I brought another battery for  mine and a charger for it  .


Offline Gaspin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • RCMF Ace
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 1,500
  • Liked: 78
  • Country: sg
  • On the beach in sunny Singapore
Re: Turnigy TYG-i10 radio
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 02:56:57 AM »
Yes, I use the phone charger in the car on the way to the field if needed and for a top up later in the day. It is a slightly peculiar radio, as many have said good potential but stunted growth.


 

BloQcs design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
TinyPortal © 2005-2012
Page created in 0.236 seconds with 44 queries.