RCMF Donations

Enjoy using RCMF? How about a wee donation to help us keep you in the style to which you've become accustomed?

Welcome to RCMF. Please login or sign up.

December 04, 2020, 20:29:44 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Spektrum DX6 wireless buddy options.

Started by Greno, February 08, 2020, 14:56:04 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Greno

I have been instructing a complete novice how to fly. Before asking me to instruct him he had already bought a cheap electric trainer complete with radio. Unfortunately after just a few sessions my club changed its rules to say all novice pilots should be instructed to fly using a buddy method. To continue to fly the novice will need a new tx which will buddy up with my Spektrum DX6, preferably wirelessly. My question is to keep costs down for the novice, what is the cheapest model of Spektrum tx which will  buddy up with the DX6. I am not sure if all Spektrum transmitters do so or only those of a certain spec. I obviously realise that he will also need a new receiver. If the novice wishes to continue with flying, the club rule change could prove costly.

FrankS

I think the Dx6e is the lowest price with wireless training which would use your Tx as the student set, but if your set has wireless capability then any Spektrum Tx could be used as a student set with yours the master.

The other option would be for the student to buy a 2nd Tx that is compatible with his Tx.

Greno

FrankS thank you for your reply. You have answered my question i.e any model of Spektrum tx will serve as a wireless student tx to my DX6. A second hand Spektrum tx is an option, the radio that came with the cheap electric trainer he bought is an obscure make I personally have never heard of. Thanks again I thought that only Spektrum txs with a certain spec could buddy up wirelessly.

Phil_G

February 08, 2020, 21:32:26 pm #3 Last Edit: February 08, 2020, 21:36:48 pm by Phil_G